APC Forum

How do you convert copper oxide to copper chloride?

billysundays

Since copper chloride doesn't seem to be available in any of the pyro chem sites (only the oxychloride), and I'm not interested in purchasing expensive lab grade material, Mumbles (thanks again) made the suggestion to try and convert the oxide or carbonate salt to chloride salt using muriatic acid. I have no idea how to figure out how much muriatic acid to use, so if anyone knows about this, let me know. Thanks.

Thanks for the link, OldMarine. Unfortunately for me, that description flies over me head. I'm not that well versed in chemistry to extract a "recipe" from it.

Ah grasshopper, by posting the link Mumbles will see it and will enlighten us on the content.
  • Like 1

I'm by no means an expert but I have myself tried to produce Copper (I) Chloride so I think I will chime in here. After reading that paper it looks like there is something that has been left out (Or maybe I missed). It proposes that HCl can be reacted directly with CuO or CuO2 yielding CuCl but in acctuality that will yeild CuCl2 which, I have been informed, is not desired or substitutable for the type of 'copper chloride' these compositions call for which is infact CuCl not CuCl2. It is indeed possible to reduce the 2+ ion to a 1+ ion (CuCl2 to CuCl) by, among other things, either boiling the resulting solution with copper chips for some time, adding ascorbic acid to the final solution or bubbling SO2 through the resulting solution but none of these options are nearly as simple as the original preparation makes the process seem. If one was to undertake such an endeavour the cost and chemical knowledge required would likely quickly exceed what you seem to posses.