APC Forum

Questions about perchlorate and chlorate

Visco

I am new to the pyro hobby and have allot of questions. I have made rockets, smoke, bp and am working on my first 2"shells with D1 and have been reading about other star compositions. I've been looking at an array of cut or rolled rubber star formulas and have been buying my chemicals as I can and have a question. Most of the star formulas I have been looking at have potassium perchlorate and sometimes potassium chlorate in them but I see allot of don't use chlorate's. What is the risks with using these powders why do allot of people not want to use them? Only thing I can find is that potassium chlorate is not to be used with sulfur . Other than that what are the concerns? All information is welcome to further my knowledge. Please no just don't use them! I want to know why? And what the percautions are. Thank you all very much. You've been a big help so far.

I am still VERY green in pyro but I can tell you some of what I know. Apparently chlorate comps can also be friction sensitive. If you had an ariel shell make a round trip chances are the shock from the shell hitting the ground would set off the chlorate containing stars and BOOM! Even more sensitive still would be if your comp contained metals. I've learned some folks here won't touch a device containing both. Far as the sulfer goes some will prime the chlorate stars with straight meal powder ONLY if the sulfer within is verified to be "pure" which I gather is mostly determined by the source of the sulfer by pyros far more experienced than I. The safest way to incorporate chlorates is sulfer free prime and burst (H3). 😉
  • Like 1

Perchlorate stars are harder to light than the chlorate ones and a bit safer. There's a current thread here telling of a pyro setting his shop on fire apparently just by shaking some chlorate stars in a bucket.