APC Forum

Can the motor block stars in the shell burst?

BlueComet24

I'm planning on securing 1.75" (44mm) ball shells to my .5" (12.7mm) BP semi-endburner motors. One potential problem I've considered is that the shell would be against the motor, and the clay bulkhead at that. When the shell breaks, some of the stars might get knocked off course or slowed down by the motor that's in the way. Is this a problem that I should find a way to solve (such as a small BP separation charge) or would it not be a problem for some reason?

I've noticed that many fireworks rocket builders (such as Tom Rebenklau) use cylinder shells, possibly for the reason that stars wouldn't get blocked. I'm a ball shell builder.

I think from a practical perspective it's not something you need to be worried about. Your shells are so small that the density and symmetry of the break will be limited and therefore the effect of the rocket tube is small.

I read somewhere that the shell burst knocks the rocket out of the way but I haven't confirmed it. Makes sense though because the rocket is coasting at that point and no longer under power.

That's probably the case with larger shells, but I'm not so sure about 1.75" ball shells.

Pretty sure it still tosses the rocket around pretty well. I doubt the effect of a separation charge would be significant. But you could always try it.

B!

I cleaned up a lot of Rocket sticks this morning after the rocket rodeo and there were plenty of signs of shell remnants remaining on the top of the Rocket Motor. That said, Ned Gorski has for some time been using a very small black powder charge between the rocket bulkhead and the shell to eject the shell from the rocket motor and before the Shell bursts.

You may wish to try that if you are concerned about the motor displacing Stars. TR uses cylinder shells because of his Keystone style stars and cylindrical inserts within the shells.