APC Forum

3 micron aluminum powder in bp

dchambers490

I am new to building small artillary shells and am having problems with getting a good burst. I use red gum bp for lift and burst. It works good for lift but poorly for burst. Would adding aluminum powder to the bp make the bp burn faster or just hotter. I am set up to make 1.75 inch shells. Does adding aluminum to bp increase the risks associated with using bp? Thanks for any help!

I would try to improve my BP before adding to it. Are you milling your powder? Details of your process would be helpful.

I've had bad results using red gum rather than dextrin for a binder. Using the same percentage the gum seems to slow down the burn rate more.

Don't have a ball mill but the red gum bp works great for lift. I use the skylighter recipe and their airfloat charcoal.

Yeah, I tried the Skylighter method at first too. I bought a cheapo Harbor Freight rock tumbler and Oh what a difference! Same KNO3, charcoal and sulfur but with dextrin and it was an entirely different animal.

You can try beefing up your current BP but I suspect you'll still be dissatisfied with it's performance.