APC Forum

Flash Replacement

MeowMix

I was interested in ordering dark aluminum and percolate in 7:3 and making flash for small salutes. But reading a lot of stories about it and just beginning pyro, it seems like a bad idea. What could I use to make salutes and break boosters instead?

I would go for 325 mesh bright flake Al, that is also used for painting. It's coarser and the mix gets less sensitive.

That's still flash powder, is it not? Dark Aluminum isn't the only material I was thinking of using. Flash in general is what I'm afraid to try. As I'm a beginner.

If you are scared of trying it - try the slow flash ( 50% KNO3, 20% 325 mesh bright Al. 30% Sulfur ) you won't be able to ignite it with a hammer. It workes well as a burst for small shells, but not as strong as KClO4 flashes.

PS: Flash isn't scary at all if you make your work carefully and if you have clean chemicals. But yes, try the slow flash first.

Would your "Chinese Flash" used in your .9" shell be safe enough for a beginner to work with? Because I'm interested in making shells that size. Or would the slow flash be enough to break shells that size?

*Sorry for being such a noob about this

Edited by MeowMix

One thing I suggest you do is research, research, research. There is a tremendous amount of information on these forums. there is a good deal of information on Skylighter's website as well. Additionally, even though they are on the pricy side, there are books out there that can be indispensable. Knowledge is your best way of staying safe. I'm not telling you to not post questions, they are a great way of finding things out when you are unsure, but research will give you the information to know when to ask questions (if that makes sense to you). One thing I will warn you about, be careful of videos posted on YouTube. There are videos on there that are just plain wrong and some are actually dangerous. Oh, welcome to the forums :)