APC Forum

First small canister shell

PhoenixRising

After dabbling with enough things, I finally decided to take the plunge and make a small can. All homemade, I'll try my best to explain how it was made.

Body is made from 3 turns of 60lb craft paper bound with some Elmer's. It had an inner diameter of 1.2 inches. The finished shell had an outer diameter of about 1.3+" and was fired from a 1.5" tube. The end discs were thick cardboard I had from an old TV box.

post-20485-0-12416800-1462762586_thumb.jpg

Stars were a combo of White stars and Gold glitter stars of my own recipe.

White lightbulb star: (reminds me very much of old-school lightbulb white)

KNO3 - 60 (Blade milled

S - 10

Sb2S3 - 10

Al - 5 (Eckart 5413)

Ti - 11 (powder, fines, chips 20-100 mesh mixed)

Dextrin - 4

+1 Boric Acid

Bind with 6 - 8% water

Twinkly Gold Glitter: (I'm not good at naming things)

KNO3 - 50

C - 10 (airfloat or mixed)

Al - 10 (30-80 mesh atomized)

Al - 5 (Eckart 5413)

Sb2S3 - 12

S - 5

Na22CO2 - 4

Dextrin - 4

Bind with 8% 75/25 Water/Ethanol

Reason for the mixed Titanium was I got it on sale really cheap. You can probably just sub granular or atomized, but I think sponge would ruin the effect.

Spolette was filled with home made meal powder. Burst was homemade granulated BP dusted (heavily) with 60/40 (half of that 60 was nitrate). (I think that's called Chinese burst? Please correct if I'm wrong). Lift was 7.5 grams of homemade BP as the shell weighed in at 78 grams. Spolette was primed with wet meal dipped in granulated BP.

post-20485-0-70955300-1462763540_thumb.jpg

post-20485-0-85235400-1462763612_thumb.jpg

post-20485-0-94948100-1462763697_thumb.jpg

post-20485-0-24135300-1462763732_thumb.jpg

And here's a video of her firing.