APC Forum

Hawkster16

Preface

For a project in my high school Chemistry class, I had to chose a topic and explain the chemistry behind it, so I chose fireworks because I am genuinely interested in how they work. I also have to do an experiment related to the topic.

I have no experience in making fireworks other than mixing up some Potassium nitrate and sugar and burning it, so I have come here to ask a couple questions about my planned experiment.

From my research, I have planned a tentative experiment that I know I can at least get the chemicals for since the chemistry supply at school has them.

The Plan

1) Mix KClO4 and Charcoal and burn it.

2) Mix some CuO with the mixture and see how it changes color.

Questions

1) will this mixture burn at all? (I am just planning on just mixing the powders, not making stars)

2) will I be able to ignite it? (I have read that KClO4 stars are difficult to start)

2) will the change in color be noticeable? (I have read that unless I add some "chlorine donor" such as Parlon the color won't change very much)

3) about what proportions would be best? (I have seen some star compositions online that have like 4:1 ratios of KClO4 to CuO)

Thank you in advance!

Hello,

Unfortunately I don't think this will work all that well, or at least not how you intend it to. It's mostly your choice of fuel. Charcoal is full of ash and will over power any color produced. This is going to be especially bad since copper based blues are some of the most delicate colors. You may be able to get some color by using a cleaner fuel like lactose or another sugar.

As to your questions, yes KClO4/C will burn, and probably ignite without a great deal of trouble. It burns pretty sluggishly at ambient pressures though. Under pressure it goes much faster. This fact could make it kind of unpredictable depending on scale and any potential confinement. However the color probably wont be noticable if you add any colorant, but especially copper oxide.