APC Forum

Can't get lift!

Xzanth

I have the 1# end burner tooling from wolter. So you know it's good. Kitty kitty ballmilled for 6 hours and used for the nozzle. I made my own BP withe basic full strength formula 75/15/10 ball milled and screened 2x. I hand RAM a motor and I get no lift at all. I'm a newbie here but I know , basically, what I need to do. Now, I am using a custom built from tubes rocket. It does weight about 2.5 lbs. I'm here looking for all the secrets. Please share with me what might help. I use the 3" tubes with 3/4" ID. I give about 12 smacks per TSP of BP. Alone these things fly. But they can't seem to lift rockets. Should I add some titanium powder or .... Any tips secrets or whatever would help. I want to get some rockets off the ground. My delay and ejection charge are working nice. But no lift. Thanks!!

End burners have much less lift than a core burner and a 2.5 lb rocket is 40 oz and a lot for a 1# end burner. That's a lot for a 1# core burner. I think your expectations are just a bit too high. There are things you can do to increase power if you want but you still aren't going to lift that much weight.

Is it just a really big rocket or is it over built with heavy tubes? You might want to either build a smaller rocket or use lighter materials.

Edit: You can increase power by making hotter BP and you can also make a small core to give it more initial thrust to get it going. Do they fly well with just a stick attached? Does it take off fairly quick or is it a really slow take off? Does it seem to get to a good height? That is quite a bit shorter tube than normally used which I think is 5.5" but might be remembering that number incorrectly.