APC Forum

Coffee Bomb?

minstarmin

So I'm new to all this. I was trying out random mixtures today, basically adding anything to anything to see if it would go boom. I mixed some KNO3 with coffee, shook it for maybe 20 seconds, and lit it. POP! And it was shooting yellowish purple flames! It smelled great too. It seems similar enough to R-CANDY, just with coffee instead of sugar, and not baked. I'll do some more experimentation later.

Edited by minstarmin

Why do you want to do this? I like my coffee strong, but that is going a bit too far!!

• Like 1

This thread should be moved to the:

"Random Discussions & Weird Experiments" section. :P

Why, coffe is just good as long the spoon can stand upright in it.

Btw. dry yeast also gives a nice and clean pottasium violett color.

Edited by Mike
  • Like 1

Frankly, randomly mixing substances is not a good idea, unless you are working with tiny amounts and using some very good safety precautions.

Kevin

• Like 1

May I just kick in a comparison, so you can see what you're actually doing, Minstarmin? Most seem to take this 'experiment' of yours lightly, but it's the stuff of which 7th-grade chemistry experiments are made! Most anything we eat can be a pyrotechnic fuel (for better or worse).

Almost all foods we humans eat are carbohydrate-based, protein-based, fats, or cellulosic.

Carbohydrates -- starches, sugars; things we call in our diets "Fuels", and fuels they really are. Almost all will burn extremely well with common pyrotechnic oxidizers.

proteins -- meats, meat-derived things like gelatin, soy protein (tofu). These are heavy on nitrogen and hydrogen content, with some carbon. They don't make great pyrotechnic fuels because the carbon is well-bound, and the gasses tend to dissociate with difficulty and carry away heat as they do -- but they will burn.