APC Forum

worried about mixing certain star chemicals

Chunn7704

I got a quick question ive been concerned about. First off im pretty terrified to deal with flash period from reading all these forums for the past month. So in saying that ive been looking up star formulas dealing with color, getting tired of the charcoal based stars(TT) Now to the point. Alot of the star fomulas im looking at deal with perclorate,alluminum, and sulfer alone with other things. From what ive read that is a bad combination. How does one go about rolling, cutting or pumping a dangerous formula like that? wouldnt that be a bad idea?

Most, if not all are wetted before pumping or cutting. I'm studying up on that myself.

It depends on who you ask, some guys will add the metals fuels last, so that the mix is "safer" during the majority of mixing. I do what is outlined by Shimizu in FAST,

"The component materials are then mixed on the kraft paper by hand. People have different views about the order in which component materials are added to one another, but in practice the materials are mixed together at the same time, slowly and gently by hand as well as possible until the mottles of the composition vanish." (Pages 178-179, Fireworks, the Art Science and Technique by Takeo Shimizu)

As far as handling the completed (dried) stars or comets, specifically relating to the loading and packing of stars in cylinder shells, the following quote is one of my favorites,