APC Forum

What went wrong!

Chunn7704

Hello everyone! Im pretty new at all this. I have always had a passion for fireworks. Im interested in making mortal shells. Last night i made up a 3" paper ball shell. i Used a snow cone cup for the lift cup. For some reason it barley came out of the tube. Deff not a good thing when the wife and kids are watching and ur trying to impress them due to my first shell and me having to yell run run due to it comming back down hitting the ground and exploding. no good. i have lifted baseballs and never once had a problem. My powder is very hott. Its driving my crazy wondering why it didnt go up. i used 10% of the total weight. 111 grams so i used 11 grams of lift. The only thing i can think of is the shell had to much play in the mortal tube. The shell was 3 inch ball shell and i was using a 3 inch mortal tube. Only thing i can think of is mabe i didnt put enough gummed tape layers on it. i think i did 4 layers. Anywaz any help would be very appriciated thank you guys.

If the cone cup was too long, it would have created too much 'dead space' between the bottom of the mortar and the shell to allow a proper full-force explosion of the lift.

Try _exactly_ the same experiment (using the cone cup) with one of your baseballs, then try it as you usually do (probably - I'm guessing - with the ball down against the lift.

For best force to be delivered by the lift, there should be no more room between the bottom of the shell and the bottom of the mortar than is necessary to fit the powder in there.

Lloyd

Edited by lloyd

Never thought of that. wow. thank you so much. that explains everything. and yes all the other time i just taped it to the ball and never had the problem. first time using the cone. thanks again Mr. Lloyd.

U are exactly right. thanks again buddy. i will make sure not to make that mistake again. haha

Mortal shells? They're all mortal if you build then right!