APC Forum

USA Driving instructor wanted

Arthur

I'm a mature UK resident with UK driving licence, I want to visit and hire a vehicle in the USA. Does anyone care to offer qualified advice about driving in the USA. Lets please start with anyone who is a driving instructor, There are places near NYC and Rochester NY that I want to visit then places in New Mexico, Arizona, Nevada and California. Do I consider trains? internal flights? or some very long drives? PM's welcome!

The US honors international drivers licenses. However, driving tips will vary depending on where you are at and the time of year. I am not an official driving instructor, unless you count the people I have trained to drive an ambulance and fire truck.

It will take about 4-5 days to drive from NY to AZ. Trains will save a little time, but passenger trains (AMTRAK) generally yield to fright trains. Still, trains are nice and you get to see the countryside. Flying is the quickest and arguable the most frustrating.

Driving can be cheap depending on the car rental agreement, and allows you to experience the country to the greatest extent. Cross country drives can be tiring though.

The only main difference (except driving on the right side of the road) is turning right on red sign. Really handy, no idea why there is no left equivalent in UK. You adjust quite quickly in a day or so. Driving in states is fun, you can get from snow to +20*C in 6h. You can drive and hire vehicle with UK/EU license, no issue there.

Edited by ivars21

Driving is almost mandatory in the US... you get punished for not having a car because there's very little reliable public transportation. A 5 mile trip could take all day on a city bus just because of how slow they are...

That is unless you're in densely populated city such as New York.