APC Forum

Hotmelt glue+Powder=?

WannabePyro

Hello there!

I'm pretty new in the pyrotechnics.

Can hot melt glue ignite powder? I'm going to make firecrackers and want to be sure that i won't loose my fingers..

Thank you in advance for helping!

http://www.adtech-craft.com/shop_content/prod_img/full/bad767f6b44d6929805bd55a08c957c1/fd8ee179df6cbb29e754c4f1dcc37210/STICKS1.jpg

• Like 1

The glue, no it is not hot enough. The glue gun however is known to fail and spew sparks which would cause a big problem.

The glue, no it is not hot enough. The glue gun however is known to fail and spew sparks which would cause a big problem.

Thank you! Do you have any cheap alternatives to glue?

You're better off buying tubes and paper plugs. The best method (unless you want to use flat end caps) is to poke a hole through one of the end caps and feed your fuse through it. Then put a small dab of hot glue around the fuse to seal the hole. Then you can put a ring of glue around the end cap and plug the end of the tube.

There are a lot more things to be worrying about making firecrackers and nobody is going to advise you to make flash powder firecrackers. What powder explosive will you be using?

The fact that you're worried about losing your fingers has me less worried. If you want to make good firecrackers I can point you in the right direction on how to make black powder and make them.

When i am making a wad with a fuse through it, I use PVA thick glue to seel the fuse. It's safer and a lot stronger them hotglue! However, if you use hotglue, plug it in away from your pyro, than plug it out when it's heated and use it!

Being new to pyrotechnics, most people would recommend starting with something other than firecrackers. I am not fond of them and do not make them. In fact, I really only make rockets, shells and fountains.