APC Forum

Red Gum vs ball milled black powder

Norwest

Hi,

I am a total newbie to making fireworks but have been doing some reading up. As making black powder is a pre-requisite for most fireworks I am trying to figure out where to start. I have a rubber lined tumbler that I could use ass a ball mill but am a bit concerned about safety, especially after reading about some accidents on the safety forum. I don't have any very isolated areas on my property accept for my garage which is full of tools and bikes so setting up a containment area would be challenging. I do see that skylighter has red gum BP kits that rely on screening rather than a ball mill. Can you all tell me the limitations of using red gum BP? Having suffered 2nd and 3rd degree burns on 1/3 of my body as a child (not fireworks or pyro related) I would rather not go through that again.

Best regards,

Thomas

You can't run a ball mill anywhere indoors. It's gotta be outside in the ground, preferably in tires or some kind of strong bunker.

I think you will get much better results ball milling your black powder. Also I bet you that the skylighter kit will end up costing you 5x more

Hi Thomas,

I've never tried out the skylighter method, but there are ways to make decent black powder without needing to mill everything together. If you choose not to, or are unable to mill everything together, the next best option is to individually mill the components. Ball mill the nitrate on it's own to make a very fine powder. You can safely mill charcoal and sulfur together as well without any additional risk. With two finely ground materials, screen mixing them, and granulating as you see fit can produce serviceable black powder. You'll get the best results from using a reactive charcoal still, such as willow, alder, paulownia, etc. just to name a few.