APC Forum

Legal chemicals for smoke bombs in Australia?

Dieseldarling

Hi there!

I'm trying to get a smoke bomb effect in a burlesque show for a big competition in Australia. However I cannot find any information on the legality of these?? I have a fog machine but I really would like the effect of a smoke bomb or really just a couple of small smoke pellets (see link below). I can't seem to find any for sale in Australia which leads me to believe they are probably not legal in the prefabricated form(?). A few people have mentioned there might be some chemicals that are not illegal of which I could use to make my own? I'm struggling to find a list of legal and or illegal chemicals that are used for this purpose so I can Give it a go... If anyone has any info id love any tips! I have no idea how to make them but I'm a pretty saavy YouTube student so any links that might be legal options would also be great! Iv also seen crazy colored ones, which are awesome! Iv heard the dye is expensive but for this one off I would be interested in knowing if the dyes would be legal/illegal chemicals also?

Iv been trying to find someone with a pyrotechnics licence to ask but having no luck...

I have personal liability insurance that covers me as I already use angle grinders and snakes (in separate acts...don't worry!) in my shows, so I at least have that bit covered...

There is a vid on this page: which shows roughly the size im after- just small ones that are effective but manageable

http://www.smokemachines.net/smoke-pellets.shtml

However- I would also love to know more about bigger and Coloured ones like this next link... Just cos it looks awesome!

Any tips or links or new directions to hunt would be really appreciated!!