APC Forum

Lead ball media hardening

pcm81

Hello all.

Total newb to ball milling here. I am interested in creating some very fine aluminum and iron oxide powders for small scale thermite welding. As the result of this hobby i also want to see just how fine of a powder i can make. I read that to get powders of size D balls no larger thn 1000xD should be used. I intend to use #12 (~1mm) leadshot as my grinding media. My questions is this: Do i need to harden the leadshot or will it work as is? I do not want to contaminate the final powder and I intend to use #240 sieve to separate powder from lead shot.

Thanks ahead.

If you are that set on milling metals I would suggest using steel balls. Milling metals will wear out even hardened lead media in no time. I hope you have done your research on the dangers of milling pyrophoric metals. On another note if you do choose the steel balls remember to never mill a "live" composition like BP. Only mill fuels with it or oxidizers never both at the same time.

If you are that set on milling metals I would suggest using steel balls. Milling metals will wear out even hardened lead media in no time. I hope you have done your research on the dangers of milling pyrophoric metals. On another note if you do choose the steel balls remember to never mill a "live" composition like BP. Only mill fuels with it or oxidizers never both at the same time.

I have no intention of milling live mixtures; I chose lead for the safety reasons associated with milling reducing agents like aluminum and magnesium (steel or iron can spark). Lead and ceramic seem to be a safer choice with lead being heavier, hence having stronger impact forces. Also i could not find a 1mm sized ceramic media. Is there a better choice than #12 lead shot for this application? I am also thinking of just using 60 grit SiC abrasive, however i am worried about cross contamination as the result of SiC breaking down to sub 230 grit particles and passing through my sieve.