APC Forum

Earthen fountain, first attempt three varieties.

pyrodoc

Hi all,

This is my first attempt at making fountains. I am very happy with the results. I had sealed the Base with fullers earth mixed with gum in first two pots and then, with pop in others.

• Like 2

Enjoyed all three fountain.

Best of luck...!!

• 8 months later...

hi guys,

nice tubri by pyrodoc. i liked the third one. usually i avoid the aluminium chur i.e. flake which makes the final composition fluffy . For silver effect i go for magnelium. it also gives a better height then the al. but my favourite is the iron filing one which give u tremendous height and a lot of sparks which cover a large area.. check this video for the last year. a brief description is given in there. will post a detailed video for making the same this year, diwali is just round the corner and preparation is on. the largest one is supposed to hold approx 4 kg of composition..will post pics soon..

i would suggest pyrodoc to try a iron filing fountain with the 20 mesh iron filings..he will just fall in love....i am sure. and the gerb below in the video has large filing to gather the height. and sorry for the colour change the phone camera is not upto the mark will get a better video this time.

www.youtube.com/watch?v=xHK9D7jXPb4

Aluminum and MgAl are melted by burning fountain. The melting point of aluminum 660С, the melting point of MgAl 463С. The combustion temperature BP 1500C.
Liquid metal drops are formed which react with the BP to form slag, it plugs the nozzle. Another problem - part of the aluminum burns inside the fountain and produced too much heat. Therefore, burns and broken cardboard casing fountain.

The metal should only heat up the combustion BP. The metal should have to burn due to atmospheric oxygen. Therefore fountain is better to use metals that do not melt at a temperature of combustion of the fountain.

Therefore, it is the best choice - Ti, TiFe (70%Ti), Fe3C (crude iron), Fe.