APC Forum

Legality

chemball

Hello all, i have been reading into the legality of this hobby, and I am concerned. I am a younger pyro. I am only 18 years old. I have been tinkering with pyro for the past two years and I have some concerns on its legality. I am aware of the ability to create and fire product on the same day and be in accordance with federal law, but I have some questions. First, are stars and other created chemical compositions considered to be the product that must be fired the same day of creation? Also, I am aware that this is a very grey area and the feds can turn this on you and convict you with an array of charges. I would like to go legal and get a BATFE license of manufacturing, but as of now i live in a suburban are and I will not be able to meet the distance guidelines for the storage of product. I feel that I should drop the hobby until I am at an age where I can own a large amount of land and get a federal license.

I do not think it is worth ruining the financial security of my family and my future for this hobby. I would appreciate some feedback on my predicament.

Thanks, Tony

Tony,

In short, yes stars/mixed pyrotechnic compositions, inserts, quickmatch, and homemade BP are ALL considered regulated materials by the ATF which means you must store them in a compliant magazine, or destroy them within 24 hours of being made.

However, there is no reason you should have too give up the hobby as there are ways to do things legally no matter where you live. There are quite a few clubs around the U.S that meet a few times a year. Quite a few of them allow onsite manufacturing/storage and firing of your own product.

Take a look at the PGI club directory and see if there is a club in your area.

http://www.pgi.org/links/clubs.php

Edited by Xtreme Pyro