APC Forum

aluminum and potassium nitrate incompatability

chemball

Hello all, I am relatively new to the hobby and i was making a batch of tiger tail stars and i thought i might add some 325 mesh aluminum to the comp. I added about 5% to the comp, but i forgot about the incompatibility between the potassium nitrate and aluminum. My question is that I do not have boric acid, so should i burn the comp? Is it dangerous in its current state?

Edited by chemball

If they are already dry and don't smell like hot sulfur they are good to go. It's during the time they are wetted you have to worry. Using really fine aluminum 500 mesh and up raises the odds of a reaction. Walmart has boric acid cheap where the roach sprays are at. 4$ for the pound. ENOZ Roach Away Boric Acid. Most people agree that 2% in a 100 gram batch is good. Add it before you start working the patty to get it mixed in well. Some add it to the water/alcohol solution to dissolve it that way.

Edited by Sparx88

currently the mixture is in powder form, i have not made the cut stars yet. Is the comp safe to sit overnight? Am I in any immediate danger? I will go buy the boric acid tomorrow after work and then make the cut stars.

Could someone please explain to me how potassium nitrate and aluminum are incompatible and what things you cannot make because of this?

The only danger is when the comp is wet with water. The dry comp is as safe as any flammable composition.