APC Forum

A different style or simply better?

enanthate

A great video on fireworks contest in Japan, 2012.

Makes me wonder, are they far ahead of us, or is it a different style (a matter of taste)?

To me it seems that their shells are simply of higher quality, better timings, etc. Might just be the camera, but it certainly looks like they have better compositions as well (and a wide variety).

I'm just a newbie, so I can't say for sure. Oppinions on this?

Sit back and enjoy these wonderful pieces of art:

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=SRVYagcmQnQ

They are many, many times more precise in their fireworks manufacture than are the rest of the world. Their stars are rolled to a fraction of a mm to get many of their color changes and other effects. I think they probably have access to some chemicals we don't as well as very pure chemicals so they get great color.

Fireworks also seem to be a larger part of the culture and they have more appreciation for the fireworks. Here, crowds seem to like non-stop carpet bombing that is almost sensory overload. There, they shoot shells one at a time so each shell can be observed and enjoyed. Therefore it seems they go for quality over quantity.

At least that's my take on things.

It's exactly what you said, "pieces of art." These are professional manufacturers competing in a contest. No detail is overlooked. We should all strive for this level of perfection.

• Like 1

It's exactly what you said, "pieces of art." These are professional manufacturers competing in a contest. No detail is overlooked. We should all strive for this level of perfection.

No detail is overlooked, no expense is to much.

For reasons unknown, most of "us" never get quite there.

B!

Well imagine you do that type of pyro for 10 years or more 8 hours a day.

No making of bp, helpers, acces to all the materials you need and the ability to spend that much money on one shell (who cares for the prize in a contest).