APC Forum

Safety of Flash in Plastic casings?

AldoSPyro

Hey APC forum,

I'm currently working on making some traditional italian canister shells, but i feel like using hand rolled paper casings for salutes is kind of a waste. I'm a beginner in pyrotechnics (I'm not a kewl boomer), but I have gathered a lot of knowledge on flash safety from Bill Ofca's documents and this forum, but I am still pretty scared of flash (maybe rightfully so) but I still want to make a few salute shells just to test out. I was thinking of using some Plastic 2" cans and mix the flash inside them using the Binary method, but I was wondering if the plastic cans could cause some static problems. But I've seen that a lot of European companies use Plastic casings for salutes.

Any advice would be helpful! :D

(FYI, I'm not really planning on making any salutes anytime soon because I still need to get good at making color shells first)

While the plastic parts are stuck together, there wont be anything for a static charge to jump to. Your good. However, i'm not sure how your figuring hand-rolled paper casings to be a waste. They are next to free to make, unlike the plastics, that aren't exactly free. On a personal note i don't like dumping plastics everywhere. There supposedly used to be someone making these from biodegradable plastics, starch i believe, but i've never seen those, and supposedly they are no longer available. I'm just guessing, but since thats a "more expensive" plastic, it might have been a price / sales issue.

B!

Aldo,

I was in the same boat, until I learned about flash powder made with TPA. It tames the beast quite nicely, and still is an effective report composition. It doesn't have the same light output as traditional flash, but gives a sharper report. It is easy to handle, and costs a bit less to boot.