APC Forum

lead media?

fight fire with fire

Hi, i'm quite new to pyro i was just wondering were all you guys get your milling media and ball mill stuff. Inoxia have ceramic media i need lead, by the way they have to be British.

I think i'll use scuba lead like siffup said, there is this guy whos selling 1/2lb-1lb weights, i'll probally get them. They come in big shafts do i have to saw them up or melt them? Or will it be fine to use a couple?

The lead media I use is hardened with Antimony. Not sure if "soft" lead has the antimony. I think without the antimony your balls would wear faster and really discolor your comps. The lead antimony balls I use color my comp abit even though they are hardened.

I also want to make a ball mill, I found some lead marbles without antimony so they're soft. I Shook it with sugar just to simulate, and the suger turned white-grey which isn't good. I have trying to put a few of them in a jar with a water/cuppersulphate solution but that didn't do much. (only a THIN!! layer of cupper, you can hardly see it and it's not very even). Anyone got an idea on how to harden it? I don't have acces to antimony, and melting the lead in ball-shapes will be quite difficult for me...

Why can't you use ceramic ? I've been using Alumina ceramic for a few years now. I hav'nt had any problems with it and they don't wear down as fast as lead w/antimony. I use it to mill my BP and meal powders.=-vongeetch--

Why can't you use ceramic ? I've been using Alumina ceramic for a few years now. I hav'nt had any problems with it and they don't wear down as fast as lead w/antimony. I use it to mill my BP and meal powders.=-vongeetch--

Ask Steve Baron ( aka 'the Charcoal Guy' ) about using ceramic to mill BP. The day his mill exploded, he had done it 'lot's of times' before too.

Too much uncertainty, and at least one definite incident with ceramic, vice no known case of lead or brass caused explosions.... hmmm.