APC Forum

All Activity

This stream auto-updates

1. Today
  2. nordicwolf

BP for Thunder Mugs

Various thunder mug manufacturers mention Fg-FFFFg for use in their devices. Can meal directly from a ball mill also be used? Or would I need to puck/corn or otherwise granulate homemade BP for use in a thunder mug? I am curious because the instructions I have read and videos I've seen all recommend ramming the BP before putting in the bread, hotdog bun, etc, to seal the bore. I suppose the FFg granules are so hard they won't crush, but I have no experience with commercial FFg. For those who use homemade BP in a cannon, what is it? Meal? puck/corn (water only)? dextrin added to BP, wetted, then granulated? and of course sieved to the appropriate size? I guess it boils down to...lift granules or rocket BP? Thank you.
  3. Yesterday
  4. Crazy Swede

Spolette Position

Can you post example links?
  5. taiwanluthiers

PbO2 anode? Make It at home.

Yea I don't know if I'd want to make lead dioxide anode myself anyways, as you can just buy it from China. I speak of using it for making chlorate/perchlorate. The picture shown is just cathode. I cut a slot into the Ti stick and just jam the plate on, and then tack weld it together. Fusion weld only because Titanium filler rods are expensive. Really Titanium welds like stainless steel, uses the same process (DC TIG welding). I just blast it with very high current (about 150 amps), and make sure the argon flows for at least 10 seconds. Most stick welder can go down to about 10 amps or so. My trouble with using a computer power supply is you have no control of the voltage or amperage.
  6. Zumber

Spolette Position

Good to all..!! I have seen many times in youtube videos while manufacturing Ring pattern shell or smile emoji pattern or sometimes in bow tie shells the time fuse is positioned near equator of hemisphere joint than attatching like regular center position. Is there any reason behind it? Thank you
  7. kingkama