APC Forum

3" D-1 glitter can shell?

AldoSPyro

I'm currently thinking of building a 3" traditional can shell using information from pyrotechnica IX (http://www.pyrobin.com/files/pyrotechnica%20ix.pdf). I want to use D-1 glitter but i don't have much experience making rolled stars, would it be possible to make a decent looking break using pumped D-1 glitter? Should i fill the shell (around the canulle) with 3/8" pumped D-1 like i would with rolled stars, or should i line the walls of the shell with 1/2" pumped D-1 comets?

I'm new to canister shell making and any advice would be helpful :D !

When using pumped stars in a cannister shell it is generally not recommended to stuff them in around the Cannule. This method works best for cut stars. You can use the "brick wall" style of setting stars, this is done by putting down a ring of stars on the bottom of the shell and filling the empty spaces on the OUTSIDE with rough pulverone. This method is repeated with the center of the star on the next layer directly above the gap in the previous one. You do not need a Cannule for this method and burst can be poured in and leveled with rough pulverone. Ned gorski has quite a few 3" construction videos detailing this method.

1/2 inch comets might be a little big for a 3" shell. They are harder to align and depending on your former O.D. May leave large gaps in between. 3/8 is about the largest you want to go with tailed stars in a shell that small.

Good luck

Edited by Jordan

If you want to use D1 you should really go down to 6-8 mm (with prime) stars, or these are very likely to make it down to the ground.

Yes D 1 works beautifull in pumped stars, but if your hands allow you to grab inside a 3" shell then stack 'em in a wall brick like manner and shim them in place. This is much faster and easier then using sawdust or other between the stars and walls, but both work.