APC Forum

How safe is it to ball mill

Almamater

ive been working with BP for aerial shells for about two years, i made a lot of bp, and thankfully i never had a "big" accident yet, but i keep reading about peoples ball mills blowing up all year round, and im wondering is this bound to happen ? i go 100% safety all day all year round, ive even installed an insane sprinkler system to flood my workshop(its a big ass container), i even got a fallout wall so i can escape.. still the thought of my mill blowing up is quite scary.. thoughts ?

The odds are very low when milling bp but freak accidents can happen. This is why you should make sure your mill is up to the task and have a clean work area in a well placed area with plenty of distance.

A little story I have:

I usually add lump charcoal to my mill and let the mill do the reduction (vs a blender to reduce the charcoal). I usually mill 2 kilo's at a time. One day I was emptying the jars where I pour the contents of the jar through a screen to separate my lead ball media. While returning the sorted media back to the jar I found two iron screws. The screws had to have been in the wood that I cooked for charcoal.

I got lucky because the two screws never set off the jar during the duration of the milling time. But did I also get lucky because those two screws never made it to a blender to reduce the charcoal? It is a rhetorical question to get us thinking about any process.

Mark

• Like 1

Emptying the jar can also be a source of accidents, especially when milling metal powders or pyrteochnics mixtures. Some flammable dusts floating in the air can be sensitive to sparks from static electricity. Metal powders can become pyrophoric or easily ignited. There has been a known accident, about a fellow who dropped steel media in almost empty jar from magnesium milling. His hand burned badly with 2nd and 3rd degree burns

• 3 months later...