APC Forum

Type 4 Explosives Magazine

NightHawkInLight

This spring I have set my sights on building an outdoor type 4 magazine. I'm looking for the cheapest way to get the job done in a way that will satisfy the ATF. As I've never built a magazine before, I am not quite sure what sort of power the ATF have in approving or failing a mag. What I mean by that is, if the magazine meets or exceeds all the criteria in the orange book, can it be failed simply for being of unusual design?

I have heard of many constructing magazines out of job boxes, which is a decent enough idea. What I am thinking about myself is building one out of a large air compressor tank, something like this or larger: http://centralmich.craigslist.org/tls/2179847871.html

It seems like an air compressor tank would be extremely simple to cut a door into, install some interior hinges, a few locks and guards, vent, and bolt to a slab. Give it a good thick coating of paint inside and out to cover all exposed metal surfaces, maybe install some shelves and it's good to go. In my mind it seems more secure than I could ever make a job box. The only thing that worries me is the orange book lists specifically what a magazine "is", which may entirely exclude any shape which is not listed:

A type 4 magazine is a building, igloo or “Army-type structure”, tunnel, dugout, box, trailer, or a semitrailer or other mobile magazine.

I'm just not sure. It would be the ideal mag for myself, as it would be upright, and large enough to hold multibreaks. Not to mention dirt cheap to construct.

Here are the details of a type 4 mag as described in the orange book: