APC Forum

Domestic vs. Chinese KClO4 which is better?

Vrizla

Hello again fellow pyro enthusiasts,

This is my third post so please forgive me in advance if I posted in the wrong area, or if there is already a thread on this topic. After searching the forum and Google I didn't find much on this subject: " Which is better domestic or Chinese Potassium perchlorate". I'm fairly new to the hobby but I just assumed that the domestic would be better. I ordered 7lbs of domestic with anti cake from Northstar. When it arrived the package said Chinese. I don't know if they slapped the wrong sticker on it or if it is indeed Chinese. If anyone could give me an educated response as to which one is generally more pure and better for pyrotechnic use, I would love to know. One opinion I read claims Chinese is better for sound and domestic is better for rocket propellant. I know I'm a newbie but I would think that the comparison should be between purity. Especially since impurities could equal disaster.

Hello again fellow pyro enthusiasts,

This is my third post so please forgive me in advance if I posted in the wrong area, or if there is already a thread on this topic. After searching the forum and Google I didn't find much on this subject: " Which is better domestic or Chinese Potassium perchlorate". I'm fairly new to the hobby but I just assumed that the domestic would be better. I ordered 7lbs of domestic with anti cake from Northstar. When it arrived the package said Chinese. I don't know if they slapped the wrong sticker on it or if it is indeed Chinese. If anyone could give me an educated response as to which one is generally more pure and better for pyrotechnic use, I would love to know. One opinion I read claims Chinese is better for sound and domestic is better for rocket propellant. I know I'm a newbie but I would think that the comparison should be between purity. Especially since impurities could equal disaster.