APC Forum

Hints and tips for Australians

mike_au

I am just starting out in pyrotechnics and living in Australia I am having some trouble finding relevant information.

There seems to be a few aussies on this forum so I'm hoping some of them might be able to offer some helpful tips.

Personally I have some experience with model rockets so I intend to start with BP or KNO3+sugar rockets. The first problem I have hit is finding bentonite clay (neither bunnings nor any of the craft stores I have tried carry it). Next step is looking at kitty litter, so can anyone recommend a supplier, a suitable brand of kitty litter, or an alternative?

I would also be interested in making coloured rockets, but all of the chemicals people talk about with regard to colours seem to be used purely in pyrotechnics. Are there any colouring compounds made out of things available at the local hardware store or similar?

And I'll just throw it open, does anyone AU have any hints or tips that might be of interest specifically to australians?

Thanks

For bentonite clay go to Coles and grab a bag of 'homebrand' kitty litter, the bag will feel like it is filled with small rocks - this is the one you want. Its pretty much pure bentonite, it will need to be processed (reduced to powder)

If you want, go to a pottery supplier and buy it there, its dirt cheap there and will be already processed plus you can pick up some carbonates.

Colored rockets are quite difficult and require funky chemicals which are hard to find.

Go to a farm supply / fertilizer store and buy a bag of KNO3 there, should be about $35 for a 25kg bag. Should be able to get a bag of sulfur there as well. You will most likely need to grind up the potassium nitrate as it will come in prilled form, just grab the cheapest coffee grinder / blender you can find.

For charcoal, I suggest pine for rockets and poplar for BP. You will probably want a ball mill :)