APC Forum

impact sensivity?

thelawnmowermaninky

absolute newbie here,

have no experience with flash powder, other than the fact that the more i read the more respect i have for it.

very willing to trade off bang for safety, not into fireworks, interested in binary targets for rifles,

something sensitive to a 22lr vs a larger caliber,

my question being, would a less fine aluminum powder mixed at 70/30,

be safer than flake and more impact resistant,

i've seen some what appears to me some very dangerous practices on you-tube,

as far as mixing, and handling,

i do not want to become a member of the nine digit club...

thanks in advance for any insight on this......

There are umpteen threads on the subject here. Do some googling since it's a newb boomer subject that no one wants their name on.

• Like 1

all i got by googling was conflicting information, i've been researching for 6 months now,

tried to do some real home work prior to winding up here,

i've talked with several phd chemist, but they hod no experience with pryotechnics,

just want to approach this from the safest manner possible,

and i've read this topic and forum front to back,

just could not seem to find certain specifics or maybe i'm not asking the correct question,

thanks.

Friction and impact sensitivity is only one of many possible sources of ignition for Flash. The real danger of flash powder is it's tremendous release of energy and potential for destruction coupled with its high sensitivity to ANY source of ignition.

Using coarser aluminum will not decrease it's energy potential but will only lessen the likelihood of it performing properly, unless it is used with the correct application and construction. In short, choosing a flash formula has little to do with safety and more to do with purpose, cost, illumitation, and sound.