• Please log in to reply
49 replies to this topic

#1 JMan

JMan

Pyromaniac

• PipPipPip
  • 63 posts

Posted 07 March 2017 - 09:41 PM

So I'm new at making rockets. I have a for grasp on all the concepts and most all of the math (basic math at least) needed to get my rockets in the air. I have had a few successful flights. I am using (from top to bottom) 1 in pvc end cap 1x5 in pvc tube and 1 in pvc coupling with a washer inside as well as a 1x1 in pvc ring to hold the washer in place in the coupling.

My goal is to make a swappable rocket. Inspired by flight tests swappable motors I guess. But I want to make it reusable and versatile aka no pvc solvent to hold it together.

My washers are used for nozzle get the exhaust gas I have used 1/4 in holes 3/8 in holes 1/2 in holes and no nozzle. My problem is that any nozzling done to the rocket causes too much pressure and blows either the nozzle/end cap off, but as the size increases it looses pressure and thrust which prevents it from taking off. My question is how might I make a tight fit which can be removed and have parts replaced (switching nozzles endcaps or pipe containing fuel) I have tried set screws and I have also tried threading the pipe and using screw on couplings/endcaps. Do any of you guys got an idea on how to make a tighter fit so the pressure dosent blow the nozzle off resulting in no pressure. Maybe increese the friction somehow?

#2 JMan

JMan

Pyromaniac

• PipPipPip
  • 63 posts

Posted 07 March 2017 - 09:43 PM

Forgot to add my fuel is 65:35 kno3 to sugar works great use 125 grams exactly in each motor I have tried glueing it all together and it works great but no parts are salvageable except the washers

#3 JMan

JMan

Pyromaniac

• PipPipPip
  • 63 posts

Posted 08 March 2017 - 09:36 PM