APC Forum

Shell wrapper

rcfun42

Well a few weeks ago I seen a shell wrapper on u tube and started making one and have got it mostly done except the one bearing for the c clamp under the machine I cant quite figure out how it works and if anyone can help I would be grateful for the help. I have been wrapping them by hand for the last 4 years and getting so many to wrap it is hard to keep up with it but anyway if you want to see it it is home made shell wrapper and it is by fireworks 17 so if someone can help me that would be great. I will check back on Thursday for answers if any and thanks. rcfun42

I built the machine. The bearing assembly uses a standard ball bearing. McMaster Carr has them. The one I used was 1.25" od x 0.5" Id 0.375" thick. Sandwich the bearing between a short 1/2-20 bolt and tighten a nut down.

You have to machine out a piece of metal to 1.125" diameter and deep enough to press the bearing into the piece and have the cut deep enough to accept the total thickness of the bearing and the bolt head. I machined the bolt head down to make it thinner. Then u need to drill and tap the closed end of it for 1/2-20 threads so you can use the coupling nut that is welded to the upright.

post-20656-0-33900000-1481683688_thumb.jpg

post-20656-0-31791400-1481683774_thumb.jpg

• Like 1

i use a thrust bearing on mine, as the load is mostly thrust not radial. If you drill out the threads in the holesaw and use a threaded rod that fits the hole, you can save on machining. Simply place the thrust bearing between the holesaw and a nut on the threaded rod. The nut is used to clamp and unclamp the shell.

Edited by Col