APC Forum

Have been making BP and Nitrocellulose crackers, whats next?

Skullivan

1st let me say im still pretty new to pyro. I started with making my own model rocket sugar rocket engines with my homemade black powder parachute ejection charges. Since then Ive been having lots of fun making my own nitrocellulose, its fun burning small amounts in my hand like a magic trick. Ive also had success making black power or kno3/sugar bottle rockets with both bp and nitrocellulose reports. I like making crackers a lot and I want more experience and knowledge.

My questing is whats next? Ive read that flash powder is a touchy subject here and rightly so because of its power and sensitivity. I definitely intend to stay safe and legal but am curious to experiment with other mixtures and the different formulas of flash powders I find interesting.

What do you pros recommend? Whats the next step? What should I read and what should I try next?

Have you tried making any stars? You will need your bp and nc skills for them and if you don't have any stars there won't be much need for flash except for the occasional salute. If you love a good bang with some visual effects then dragon eggs can be an attractive option. They work great in fountains, rockets, shells and star guns, I promise you won't be disappointed.

Black Powder. Make Charcoal and a ball mill. From then on you can do stars, sells, rockets etc. Sounds like you've already done this. What charcoal are you using?

If you want to make colours you'll want Potassium perchlorate, Parlon, Barium nitrate, Copper oxide, MgAl, Strontium carbonate, Dextrin and Red Gum.

Burning nitro in yourhand is such fun :)

Edited by Seymour