APC Forum

Ejection delay options & equipment

Redrocketman

Hi all, I have been making wonderfull r candy rockets for some time ( nothing like the sound of a space shuttle booster launch!! ), concentrating on very large motors. ( 400 - 500mm X 45mm - 12mm core )

My question is what are spolettes? I was told these could be used as a delay, but with the time & effort I am putting into this rocket, I want reliable chute ejection at or just after apogee. I think I will use electronic timers etc, but just wanted thoughts on whether there is a way of incorporating it all in the motor casing?

Will most likely run a "I" or "J class motor in it, so it WILL be essential that it all ' pops ' correctly.

I can give all the dimensions if that would help, tho I'm now downloading the correct software so I can insert all dimensions to determine apogee with given thrusts and payload weight, I'll let the computer do the maths as I'm still learning, so I really think electronics is the option.

Any ideas?

A spollette is just a thick walled tube, 5/16" - 3/8" ID in many cases, that has black powder rammed into it to create a fuse or timer. Some of the more practiced fireworkers are said to be able to make dozens of them in an hours time.

I am a tad busy for a little while then would like to do through some things. I was told you came up with a simple timer based around a ball bearing closing the circuit, and opening the circuit, thus initiating the ejection charge at apogee???

I'll be back!!

Hey Dave,

I'm fairly new to the forum, absolutely brilliant

Does the idea of a ball bearing activated charge circuit seem logical? Of course, we want our rockets to pop the chute at or just after apogee