APC Forum

FLpyroBP

I am new at this hobby and have made some basic firework stars with what I have : potassium nitrate, charcoal(airfloat) sulfur,dextrin,aluminum powder, sodium nitrate , and boric acid.

My question is aside from tiger tails is there any other stars that I can make with these materials or what else should I purchase to make some different effects or colors. I have been cutting my stars instead of pumping them and/or pressing them. Thnx

• Like 1

Select "More" on the menu bar and you will find the formula database that contains a number of star comps.

Do a google search for pyro, fireworks, star, comet, formulas and you will find a number of resources.

There are a few digital pdf. files out on the internet that contain a large number of formulas if you search for them.

There are a few pyro retail websites that also have some formula databases to work from.

Use the search function on this website and you will find a number of articles written with formula's.

Is you al flake or atomized and witch size?

Some comps you can make are:

C6 or 8.

Willow of mystery.

If the al is atomized D1.

KNO3 white.

Al whites.

And sodium based yellows.

You should invest into a chlorine donor like pvc, saran or parlon. Some red gum and perchlorate, strontium carbonate/ nitrate, copper oxide and barium nitrate (watch out as it is a poison, first experiment with the others).

• Like 1

schroedinger

My aluminum powder is just something that I created up from a formula I got online from aluminum foil and charcoal rolled in my ball mill for like 5 days. It's completely powder no flake

If the powder turns everything silver and stains like hell,its flake aluminium .Your ball milled product should be this kind. Atomized aluminum is grey without metallic luster Edited by PIL
  • Like 1

Phil that wont happen as he used charcoal to inhibit oxidation, but you are right the powder he got is flake aluminium.