APC Forum

Blue star question..

braddsn

I must be missing something.. but is there a reason that there are no perc blue stars with MgAl in them? All other colors (like green) have some formulas which contain MgAl. Seems like a little metal would decrease the chances of them blowing out at speed. Could you just add a little MgAl to any of the blue comps (conkling, phiko, etc)?? Could a little MgAl also possibly increase burn speed? Anyone experiment with this?

While there are a few metallic blues used, the metal fuel often makes the star burn too hot and appear pale. Blues appear better with cooler flame temperatures, so organic fuels tend to work better.
  • Like 1

I believe the hot burning metal tends to wash the color out. Blues are on the lower end of the temp scale and will burn without that deep color if too hot. I'm no expert Brad and if anybody wants to chime in and correct me feel free. Blues are a mystery to me and I've become obsessed with getting them right. I really like the pyro sci blues chained with brilliant white. The contrast seems to make the blue appear deeper. If I ever get a decent camera and figure out how to use youtube I'll start putting up clips of my shells. Some are really pretty and some are just so so, but all of them are fun and exciting to me. Even those little threes. Your breaks on them impress the heck out of me.
  • Like 2

China blue:

Potassium perchlorate 45, copper oxide 22, sulfur 5, magnesium aluminum alloy 5, phenolic resin 7,polyoxyethylene 8, shellac, 1

Potassium perchlorate 53, sulfur 15, copper oxide 16, polyoxyethylene 8, magnesium aluminum alloy 20

Potassium perchlorate copper oxide 45, 25, 8 and 6 of HCB, sulfur, magnesium aluminum alloy 7, phenolic resin 8

Potassium perchlorate, 52% copper oxide 20%, chlorinated paraffin 5%, sulfur 18%, aluminum magnesium alloy2%, Rice noodles 3%