APC Forum

Ball Mill or chemicals?

Cc2014

Ok, so I have set aside some money to invest in some chemicals / equipment. I will of course be using some of this money for safety equipment, but I am not sure what to do with the remainder. My choices:

Buy a ball mill to produce my own aluminium powder, and buy a relatively small amount of other necessary chemicals

OR

Buy a lot of chemicals, including aluminium powder, but no ball mill.

I am just get started in pyrotechnics, so I am not sure what would suite me better. I am guessing that in the long run it would be better to have a ball mill as aluminium powder is extremely expensive and really hard to find where I am from, however, as I said I am just getting started, so is there really any need for a ball mill? I plan on getting some experience and making some basic black powder rockets, so a ball mill would be really helpful in that case. I plan to start with flash powder, and then make firecrackers once I get some experience making flash powder.

I would imagine that buying a ball mill and a smaller amount of chemicals would be the better option, but I am just looking for some opinions. A large amount of my budget would be spent on a motor and pulleys for the ball mill, leaving a bit over half of my budget for chemicals.

Thanks.

You really need a ball mill. I'm not sure the first thing you should get in to is milling aluminum for your pyro needs, reactive metals have their issues when milling, but you really should get a ball mill.

B!

You could buy or build a small mill and add a larger one later when funds allow. Large mills are great if you need a kilo or two in a hurry ,not so good for 100g

I'd get the mill. The single most important composition used in pyrotechnics is BP, and you'll need a mill to make good BP.