APC Forum

Case Formers

mikeee

I have been turning case formers for several years now and have set up a website to streamline

the process. I can turn 3" through 12" wood case formers and also turn 3/4" through 2" insert formers.

I have turned a number of different woods on request and also fabricate larger case formers on request

from hollow forms with wood veneers to keep the weight down.

http://mikeee12345.wix.com/case-formers

Thank You

Mike Johnson

The case formers that Paul Moulder made were works of art, he had access to some really nice woods in

Thailand when he was making them.

He was having a hard time finding quality wood billets the last couple years to make the formers he made over the years.

I have turned a few burl wood case formers which really look nice when they are finished.

Mike J.

http://mikeee12345.wix.com/case-formers

Edited by mikeee

I might look into buying a 2 1/2 inch former. Is shellac over boiled linseed oil an option? I love the way it looks on axe handles but I want the easy maintenance of shellac. Glad to see somebody still has the heart for making these.
  • Like 1

Jordan,

I do use boiled linseed oil and Shellac as my primary finish for case formers.

It is a good durable finish and it is easily repaired if damaged.

PM me your email address and I will send you some photos of some formers I have made.

I made a set of Cherry Case Formers for a gentleman in the Houston area earlier this year.

I usually make case formers from woods that the customer has a preference for.

Just let me know if you have a preference in wood type.

Maple is the most common wood used for case formers, finishes nicely with oil and shellac and is very stable.

A laminated wood billet provides a stable product for many years, I do turn solid billet formers in smaller sizes 3" & 4".

Anything larger than that it is difficult to source quality billets for turning larger pieces and still be a stable product in later years.

Thank You

Mike J.